Surname Saturday – Johnson

This post will be to remind myself that I am thankful my mother decided to marry my dad. When she was in a little shop looking for a dress to get married in, she overheard two little old ladies that ran the shop, yackin’ about someone they knew. One proceeded to say, “Yano? When a blonde headed and black headed person marries, their children will be red-headed.” My mother was horrified!! She’s blonde and my Dad has black hair(Well, he did until he turned grey.) She almost backed out of getting married! Why she didn’t want a red-headed child, I don’t know if I ever will find out, but I keep my grey hairs covered up with red hair dye just to remind her (not really lol) of that incident. She married and had 4 kids and none were red-headed except for hints of red in my hair before I decided to go a medium auburn. She was a Kennedy and her mother was a Johnson and that is the name I will talk about today – the Johnson surname.

After the Norman conquest of 1066, a lot of people started using the surname Johnson. Johnson means son of John and this name could possibly go all the way back to John the Baptist in the Bible. The Johnson clan became involved in a war with the Maxwells over land rights near the border of Scotland and Britain and soon British military disbanded both clans. The Johnsons were continually trying to protect and defend their lands, but as losses came here and there, they would have to move to another area and once again start over defending what they had obtained building strong fortresses wherever they were at. in hopes of it withstanding attacks

5 Comments

Filed under Alderete, Johnson, Surname Saturday

5 responses to “Surname Saturday – Johnson

  1. Stoppig by from genabloggers! I loved your description!

    Welcome to the genabloggers community!

    Hillary

  2. Welcome to the Geneabloggers family. Hope you find the association fruitful; I sure do. I have found it most stimulating, especially some of the Daily Themes.

    May you keep sharing your ancestor stories!

    Dr. Bill ;-)
    http://drbilltellsancestorstories.blogspot.com/
    Author of “Back to the Homeplace”
    and “13 Ways to Tell Your Ancestor Stories”
    http://www.examiner.com/x-53135-Springfield-Genealogy-Examiner
    http://www.examiner.com/x-58285-Ozarks-Cultural-Heritage-Examiner

    • Thank you so much Dr. Bill. This has been one of the most stimulating experiences I have become involved with in a long time. It is great meeting you and I appreciate the warm welcome you have sent my way. I am looking forward to checking out your blog too!

      May our paths cross many times in this circle of life.

      Tess

  3. Laura

    Hi, This is your cousin, Laura Kennedy Williams. I really like your story about the red hair!! You know since Kennedy is Irish, the red hair has to come out somewhere down the line. My daughter has really beautiful red curly hair!!! Most of my children have blonde hair, one is auburn, one is red! The Kennedy comes out in her!!

Leave a Reply

