Talented Tuesday~Music-Expressions of the Heart in Melody

As far back as I can remember, music has always been a part of my family.  This may be bragging just a little bit, but hey, a mom has a right to brag whenever she can.  My son plays the trumpet and has been playing for years.  Is he out of college yet?  No, I think he has decided to become a professional student just so he can continue playing with his college band (lol) but yet I cannot help but swell up with pride when I overhear a doctor in music speak the words, “He’s the best this area has seen in a very long time.”  Then we have my uncle, my mother, some of my aunts, cousins, and even I play the piano.  Most of us are musically inclined while others are artistically talented and then there are some of us who are not satisfied with just one world but steps into both worlds of music and art.  My mother once told me when she started learning how to oil paint, that the evening sky was God’s canvas where he painted the beautiful sunsets.  Whether she had heard this or read it, or came up with it out of her mind, I have no clue, but I do tend to agree with her wholeheartedly.  Then there’s the times I have heard my Dad play the harmonica and wish he would record it for me to listen to whenever I want to….Maybe I should sneak over there and secretly record him doing just that!!!  Also, is the times I used to see an Aunt sit on the bench and start out with just 2 fingers on the piano, play about 4 or 5 notes and then the next thing you knew she was playing all over that keyboard, the white keys, the black keys, and even in the cracks.  When she was really having fun, she would even throw her foot up on the end of the keys and sound like Jerry Lee Lewis playing the piano, making us all laugh.  When it came time for Sunday morning, everybody went to church, and if you were lucky, my aunt, uncle, mother, and dad would sing a few songs as a quartet with an awesome harmony.  Below is a picture I could probably even use on a mystery Monday topic but I am hoping some of my extended family members will see this and recognize who is in this picture.  I was told the one on the left is a great-grandfather of mine but which one I am not sure.  A cousin of mine could not identify the fiddle player either.  Anyone recognize these two musicians? Just looking at these two, with their instruments in hand, I can close my eyes and almost hear the melodies they play wafting thru the piney woods  as they express the songs they have in their heart on the guitar and fiddle.

2 Comments

Filed under My Family Ramblings, Talented Tuesday

2 responses to “Talented Tuesday~Music-Expressions of the Heart in Melody

  1. I think you should sneak over and record your dad’s harmonica playing.

  2. Gotta love a good fiddle!
    Cheers,
    Theresa (Tangled Trees)

Leave a Reply

